Drake Faculty, Staff and Students

In 1994, the Madelyn Levitt Teacher of the Year Award was created in honor of Madelyn Levitt's commitment to Drake and her ongoing interest in faculty achievement and academic excellence. Each year a member of the Drake University faculty is honored with this award for their teaching excellence.

You are invited at this time to nominate a faculty member for this prestigious award.

## Process:

- 1. A letter of nomination should be submitted recommending an individual faculty member for the award and explaining the context and manner in which the nominator has come to know the faculty member. This letter should speak to the following qualifications:
- an informed mind in inspirational dialogue with students
- integrity in personal relationships
- rigor in intellectual endeavors
- contagious enthusiasm for her/his subject matter.

A nominee must be a faculty member holding the rank of instructor, or above, and in at least her/his fourth academic year of service and cannot have won this award within the past five years.

The letter should be sent as an attachment to Associate Provost Arthur Sanders at arthur.sanders@drake.edu and sandra.harris@drake.edu no later than **February 8, 2021**.

- **2**. The nominated individual is notified by the Provost's Office of her/his nomination and asked of her/his willingness to be considered.
- **3**. At the nominee's acceptance, the nominator is asked to collect the following supporting material and submit them electronically to Sandra Harris in the Associate Provost's Office by **March 8, 2021**:
- · a curriculum vitae;
- a short statement, by the nominee, of educational philosophy or about methods of teaching;
- teaching evaluations for the nominee for the previous two semesters.
- a minimum of one additional letter supporting the nomination must be submitted. At least one letter of support must be from a current student and at least one letter of support must come from

<u>a faculty member</u>, and there may be no more than five letters including the nomination letter and letters supporting the nomination.

- **4**. Electronic submission of materials is required. Send all documents to sandra.harris@drake.edu
- **5**. A screening committee, appointed by the Provost, will review all nominations and make appropriate recommendations to the Provost. The committee will include previous recipients of the award.
- **6**. Any individual who was nominated for the award in 2019 or 2020 may be re-nominated if the nominator resubmits a letter offering the individual for consideration this year. Files of previous nominees are maintained for two years. If a faculty member is re-nominated, the nominator will be invited to review the file from the previous year to ensure that the nomination is as current as possible. The limit of five letters of support, including one from a current student and one from a faculty member, also applies to re-nominations.

The 2021 recipient of the Madelyn Levitt Teacher of the Year Award will be announced at one of the spring 2021 commencements.

More information is available at: http://www.drake.edu/acad/honors/levittteacheraward/